

### Meeting of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of the State Universities Retirement System Thursday, June 1, 2023, 2:30 p.m. Northern Trust - 333 S. Wabash Ave., 44th Floor - Chicago, IL \*Optional Remote Connection Provided for Members of the Public\*

The meetings on June 1-2, 2023, were conducted in person at Northern Trust – Chicago, IL. Because an in-person quorum was present, a motion was made at the beginning of the meeting that allowed trustees Lyons and Vasquez to participate in the meetings by electronic means.

The following trustees were present: Mr. John Atkinson, chair; Dr. Andriy Bodnaruk; Ms. Jamie-Clare Flaherty; Dr. Fred Giertz; Mr. Scott Hendrie; Mr. John Lyons (via zoom); Dr. Steven Rock; Mr. Collin Van Meter; Mr. Mitch Vogel and Mr. Antonio Vasquez (via zoom).

Others present: Ms. Suzanne Mayer, Executive Director; Mr. Doug Wesley, Chief Investment Officer (CIO); Ms. Ellen Hung, Deputy CIO; Ms. Tara Myers, Chief Financial Officer; Ms. Bianca Green, General Counsel; Mr. Jefferey Saiger, Chief Technology Officer; Ms. Nichole Hemming, Chief Human Resources Officer; Ms. Kristen Houch, Director of Legislative and Stakeholder Relations; Ms. Alicia Route, Legislative Analyst; Ms. Kelly Carson, Ms. Chelsea McCarty and Ms. Annette Ackerman, Executive Assistants; and Mr. Michael Calabrese of Foley.

Executive Committee roll call attendance was taken. Trustee Atkinson, present; Trustee Giertz, present; Trustee Lyons, present; Trustee Van Meter, present; and Trustee Vogel, present.

Prior to any business brought before the committee and after an in-person quorum was established, Trustee Vogel moved to allow remaining trustees to participate via video or conference call for the Executive Committee meeting on June 1, 2023, pursuant to Section 7(a) of the Open Meetings Act. The motion was seconded by Trustee Giertz, and it passed via the following roll call vote:

Trustee Atkinson	-	aye
Trustee Giertz	-	aye
Trustee Van Meter	-	aye
Trustee Vogel	-	aye

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Trustee Atkinson presented the minutes from the Executive Committee meetings of March 10, 2023 and April 10, 2023.

Trustee Van Meter made the following motion:

• That the minutes from the March 10, 2023 and April 10, 2023 Executive Committee meeting be approved as presented.

Trustee Giertz seconded and the motion carried via the following roll call vote:

Trustee Atkinson	-	aye
Trustee Giertz	-	aye
Trustee Lyons	-	aye
Trustee Van Meter	-	aye
Trustee Vogel	-	aye

#### APPROVAL OF CLOSED MINUTES

Trustee Atkinson presented the closed minutes from the Executive Committee meeting of March 10, 2023.

Trustee Giertz made the following motion:

• That the closed minutes from the March 10, 2023 Executive Committee meeting be approved as presented and remain closed.

Trustee Van Meter seconded, and the motion carried via the following roll call vote:

Trustee Atkinson	-	aye
Trustee Giertz	-	aye
Trustee Lyons	-	aye
Trustee Van Meter	-	aye
Trustee Vogel	-	aye

Trustee Atkinson presented the closed minutes from the Executive Committee meeting of April 10, 2023

Trustee Giertz made the following motion:

• That the closed minutes from the April 10, 2023 Executive Committee meeting be approved as presented and opened.

Trustee Van Meter seconded, and the motion carried via the following roll call vote:

Trustee Atkinson	-	aye
Trustee Giertz	-	aye
Trustee Lyons	-	aye
Trustee Van Meter	-	aye
Trustee Vogel	-	aye

### **CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT**

Trustee Atkinson did not have a formal report.

### NOMINATION OF SURS COMMITTEE CHAIRS AND COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR FISCAL YEAR 2024

Trustee Vogel made the following motion:

• To accept the slate of nominations, as revised, of chairpersons and committee members as presented for fiscal year 2024.

Trustee Giertz seconded and the motion carried via the following roll call vote:

Trustee Atkinson	-	aye
Trustee Giertz	-	aye
Trustee Lyons	-	aye
Trustee Van Meter	-	aye
Trustee Vogel	-	aye

A copy of the "SURS Proposed Committee Assignments" is incorporated as part of these minutes as **Exhibit 1**.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There were no public comments presented to the Investment Committee.

There was no further business brought before the committee and Trustee Van Meter moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion was seconded by Trustee Giertz and carried via the following roll call vote:

-	aye
-	aye
	- - - -

Respectfully submitted,

herene m.

Ms. Suzanne M. Mayer Executive Director and Secretary, Board of Trustees

SMM:aa

# **Proposed Committee Assignments 6/2023**

## **Administration**

- 1. Collin Van Meter C
- 2. John Atkinson
- 3. Steven Rock
- 4. Jamie-Clare Flaherty
- 5. Antonio Vasquez

### **Diversity**

- 1. Jamie-Clare Flaherty C
- 2. Richard Figueroa
- 3. John Atkinson
- 4. John Lyons
- 5. Antonio Vasquez

## **Executive Committee**

- 1. John Atkinson Chair
- 2. Collin Van Meter Vice Chair
- 3. John Lyons Treasurer
- 4. Fred Giertz
- 5. Mitch Vogel

# <u>Audit & Risk</u>

- 1. Fred Giertz C
- 2. Scott Hendrie
- 3. Steven Rock
- 4. Andriy Bodnaruk
- 5.

### **Investments**

All Trustees with Scott Hendrie as Chair

### **Board Governance**

- 1. John Lyons C
- 2. Jamie-Clare Flaherty
- 3. Collin Van Meter
- 4. Mitch Vogel
- 5. Scott Hendrie

## Legal & Legislative

- 1. Steven Rock C
- 2. Fred Giertz
- 3. John Lyons
- 4. John Atkinson
- 5. Andriy Bodnaruk

# Claims Panel

- 1. Richard Figueroa
- 2. Executive Director
- 3. Hearing Officer

As a reminder now that board meetings will be in-person, because the board serves as fiduciaries for all the participants and beneficiaries of the SURS system, it is imperative that trustees prioritize their attendance at both their assigned committee meetings and at full board meetings so we can meet our in-person quorum requirements and take all actions necessary to meet our fiduciary duties.