Thirteen SURS members have submitted applications for the upcoming trustee election including five active members and eight annuitants. The election will be held April 1 – May 3, 2021, to fill two expiring annuitant seats and two expiring active-member seats.

The two active-member trustee terms are six-year terms. One annuitant trustee term is a six-year term, and the other is a three-year term created by the years left in an unexpired six-year term. Members who have submitted applications include:


Active Members Annuitant Members
6-Year Term
Annuitant Members
3-Year Term
 Andriy Bodnaruk  Fred Giertz  Mike Fortner
 Jennifer Santillan  Debra Jo Kinsella  David Sinason
 Kevin Triskett  David Lange  Mitch Vogel
 Antonio Vasquez  William Marzano
 Scott Weisbenner  Kathy Young

For their names to appear on the ballot, candidates must collect signatures via paper petitions, online electronic petitions or a combination of both. Active-member candidates must collect 400 signatures and annuitant candidate must collect 100 signatures.

Candidates may email members a link to the YesElections secure website for them to access and sign electronic petitions or members can access electronic petitions on SURS secure Member Website via Electronic and paper petitions must be submitted to SURS by Jan. 31, 2021.