We salute the staff members and students of the 48 Illinois community colleges in the SURS family. Each college offers their students excellent educational opportunities.

The proclamation recognizes that America’s first public community college was established in Joliet, Illinois in 1901 and that Illinois community colleges educate 65% of the students enrolled in Illinois public higher education.